Eczema Skincare: Current Routine – Morning

It’s a new year, and I want to redirect this blog to something that might be helpful to others out there. From stats of the blog, I noticed my most popular posts were about skincare, especially due to eczema. As someone plagued with severe eczema, I feel you all! It’s annoying and unpleasant and can leave ugly scars. So, look forward to skincare reviews, regimes, and skincare tips!

I’ve been getting quite a few requests to post my current skincare routine. I last posted my skincare regime here, over a year ago in April of 2011. Well, it is now 2013. How is my skin?

It’s a lot better. I get flare ups quite frequently, but due to consistent, controlled treatments, I’ve been able to keep it minimal, visibly at least.

As you can see in this photo, my skin isn’t perfect. I have some faint scars on both cheeks, some blotches, and some scars on my chin. My forehead is uneven with small dents stretched across. It’s not that apparent because of the intensity of the sun, but if you look at my other photos, you can see what I’m talking about. I’m posting this because I’m not wearing any foundation – minimal makeup. In fact, I’m only wearing eyeliner and a tiny bit of eyeshadow.

XLP_5661

Some background:

I’ve always had eczema. Since entering college, though, it spread from just inner elbow and knees to my face, shoulders, hips, breasts, inner thighs, and calves. I have some on my hands as well. The most devastating area affected was my face. I developed eczema on my forehead and both cheeks. My right cheek was most affected, though, and when it first flared up in the chilling, bitingly cold winter in St. Louis, it oozed. It became crusty, red, and oozed. I was scared to touch it – don’t even mention washing! This was when I started looking online for a treatment. I had steroid cream for my previous, mild eczema but I was not about to use it on my face. I couldn’t find any useable routine from the internet. I found generic advice – wear cotton, don’t use hot water to wash your face and body, take short showers, etc. I learned about the condition. It’s chronic, related to stress and amount of sleep. I was not surprised – as an architecture student, my time was spent in the unhealthy atmosphere of studio, with as little as 4-5 hours of sleep a night. I didn’t drink much water, ate unhealthy cafeteria food, and was constantly stressed.

I started to try out different skincare routines and brands. I always read reviews online and there is one label I actively look for: sensitive or dry skin. This might be obvious for some, but I took a long time of trying out different products to realize that everyone’s skin is different, and some brands recognize it and make their products specific to each skin type. I used products for oily skin or normal skin. Cleansers dried my skin out. Some lotions and creams just weren’t effective. And some were way too oily. So I started to pay more attention to what I purchased and tried. Samples are a great way to try things out.

Due to requests: will post ENTIRE ROUTINE in the next couple of weeks. From waking up to night time.

Current Skincare Routine: Morning

XLP_2778 XLP_2780

1. REN Ultra Moisture Cleansing Milk with Clarisonic Mia Skin Cleansing System
Incredibly gentle and soothing.

XLP_2781

2. YSL Toning and Cleansing Micellar Water
I use this sometimes if I feel too dry. Use with cotton pad and no need to rinse – serves as a GREAT toner too!

XLP_2783

3. Clearly Corrective Dark Spot Solution by Kiehl’s
Works wonderfully well with previous eczema scars + acne scars!

XLP_2784

4. Josie Maran Argan Daily Moisturizer SPF 40
Because sunscreen is very important.

XLP_2785

5. Ultra Facial Cream by Kiehl’s 
I’ve used this for over a year. I may mix it with the Josie Maran moisturizer, especially in the winter, as the Josie Maran is very light and doesn’t always keep my face moisturized. I am currently looking for a new moisturizer with high SPF – suggestions?

XLP_2786

6. Creamy Eye Treatment with Avocado 
Personally, this is too strong so just dab a tiny bit when applying – will be looking for new eye treatment.

Then it’s a bit of eyeliner and shadow, maybe one brush of bronze on each cheek, and I’m off! No foundation, no BB cream, no concealer. Those clog up my pores and removing them at night is never pleasant, aggravating my eczema.

Individual product reviews + usage and night routine to come!

7 comments
  1. I used to have terrible eczema, but I switched to a grain-free diet and now my skin is clear! Its a miracle! 🙂

  2. Hi Betty! I also suffer with eczema (I’m a female in my mid 20s). You look like you have beautiful skin in your photo and I don’t notice any scarring or eczema! Glad you have found a great routine that works well for you. You mentioned seeking suggestions on a new moisturizer with high SPF. I have been using one with SPF 35 by Vanicream. I mention it in one of my blog posts here (http://eczemaexcellence.wordpress.com/2012/11/25/current-skincare-routine). I find that it works well at keeping my skin feel moisturized, just putting that out there as something you may want to check out. Cheers!

    • Andrea said:

      Hi Betty! Your blog is exactly what I’ve been looking for. Would you be able to post an update with your entire routine? Thank you! 🙂

      • mayu07 said:

        Hi! Yes, I will. Currently revamping blog so look for updates soon 🙂

  3. blanka maria said:

    Facial eczema is the worst! Try Made from Earth’s Three Berry Face Serum. I used to have it all over my face, and its the only face serum that when i applied it would take away the eczema. . .face saver

  4. 20112010mo said:

    i totally understand what you go through. i have suffered with eczema my whole life and three years ago up until 3-4 months ago it was so severe i wouldnt leave my house for weeks at a time. i am now in control of my problem and have created a website with all kinds of information on preventing a flare-up and products that are good/bad. you may find it useful at eczemastruggle.co.uk we ca beat this one day at a time

Leave a Reply

