A Lesson from Nuxe Huile Prodigieuse

Alright, who has heard of Nuxe Huile Prodigieuse? When I was in Paris this past summer, one of my must-vists was the pharmacy. French pharmacies are famous for their fabulous selection of skincare products. From La Roche-Posay to Caudalie, there are products any beauty enthusiast would love to peruse. I picked up a pretty glass bottle of Nuxe Huile Prodigieuse. It is a dry oil that can be applied to skin or hair. It is wildly popular and I wanted to give it a try.

I started applying this to my body after I showered. With my skin a little bit damp, I would start spraying and spreading the oil to cover my skin, especially my dry eczema patches. Later that day, I felt itchier than I had in months. As I had just returned from Europe, I thought it was a side effect of travel fatigue. However, I continued to use the product and my skin continued to become drier and itchier. In fact, my fiancé noticed. That’s when I decided to discontinue my usage of Nuxe Huile Prodigieuse. I was disappointed. I really wanted to like this product. It has a great scent, too.

HOWEVER, I did a little research, and I discovered that the essential oils used included macadamia seed oil, hazelnut oil, and almond oil. Well, duh!! I have a tree nut food allergy. It’s mild, but I am allergic to tree nuts (walnuts, cashews, almonds, hazelnuts, etc). I cannot believe I did not check the ingredients. Of course my skin reacted! This isn’t really a case of sensitive skin or eczema – this applies to everyone. Please, please, check the ingredients. This is a mistake I will not make again. After applying Aveeno’s eczema therapy lotion for a couple days, my skin returned to normal.

3 comments
  1. Sandy said:

    Betty. Thank you! I am a 47 year old woman that has struggled with ezcema and recently it has claimed my face. Although I totally know that my skin needs might differ from yours, I will be trying some of your products. Just wanted to let you know that you have inspired me today. I was feeling pretty lost… So thank you.

    • mayu07 said:

      Sandy, thank you for dropping by! I’m so sorry to hear about your facial eczema – isn’t it just the worst? Let me know which products work and which ones don’t! Good luck!!!

Leave a Reply

